The Hammett Prize comes to NoirCon

The North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers is pleased to announce nominees for their annual Hammett Prize for a work of literary excellence in the field of crime writing by a US or Canadian author. The nominees are as follows:

The Stranger, by Harlan Coben (Dutton)
Sorrow Lake: A March and Walker Crime Novel, by Michael J. McCann (Plaid Raccoon Press)
The Whites: A Novel, by Richard Price, writing as Harry Brandt (Henry Holt)
The Do-Right, by Lisa Sandlin (Cinco Puntos Press)
The Organ Broker: A Novel, by Stu Strumwasser (Arcade Publishing)

A reading committee of IACW/NA members selected the nominees, based on recommendations from other members and the publishing community. The committee was headed by Michael Bowen and included Lorenzo Carcaterrra, Jill Kelly, Sharol Louise, and Ann Romeo.

The winner will be chosen by three distinguished outside judges: Peter Eckersall, author of Performativity and Event in 1960s Japan: City, Body, Memory and Professor in Theatre at CUNY Graduate Center; Gina Pollock, owner of BR Books in Lancaster, PA; and author Luanne Rice, whose most recent novel is The Secret Language of Sisters

The organization will name the Hammett Prize winner during the NoirCon literary conference in Philadelphia, October 26-30. The winner will receive a bronze trophy, designed by sculptor Peter Boiger. 

The Hammett Award Luncheon will be on October 29th, 2016.